Brian Krebs, a security researcher, found that the Apple’s iPhone 11 Pro tracks users’ locations even when is set to not to do so.

According to Mr Krebs, the phone continues to collect data regarding their user’s position even when the location sharing option is turned off in every individual app.

For Apple this is an “expected behaviour” and not a security issue as it allows their users to have more control over their sharing location with the apps they choose.

This means that a person can choose to have their location switched on for maps and off for everything else.

 Mr Krebs wrote on his blog that “One of the more curious behaviours of Apple’s new iPhone 11 Pro is that it intermittently seeks the user’s location information even when all applications and system services on the phone are individually set to never request this data.”

Mr Krebs contacted Apple to report the issue by sharing a video which showed that the location services icon appears on the top corner even though every app and system service on his phone was set to “never request” his location.

The engineer who took the call, informed Mr Krebs that some system services do not have a switch in the phone settings, meaning that they are permanently on!

That, argued Mr Krebs “seems at odds with the company’s own privacy policy”.

To read the full article please visit the Source link

Recommended Posts

No comment yet, add your voice below!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.